Proguard 7.1.1 string obfuscation fail

Hi Team,
I am new to proguard and want to obfuscate a string that is there in my jar. I tried using -adaptclassstrings com.package.Mycalss, but I can still see the plain Sting when I open the jar with JD-GUI only the name is changing to ‘a’. Is there a way where I can make the string gibberish such that the end-user can’t see the plain String?
Ex:
String string = “Hi”;
Expected obfuscated String string = “ajba1$1”; basically not the original string.
I tried it out using GUI but not sure if I am going in the right direction. Please help me out here.
Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Dear @Raghunathbabu_Kotha ,

Welcome to our community and thanks a lot for reaching out to us! Good to hear that you are starting to use ProGuard.
Please let me further clarify what ProGuard can do for you:
ProGuard is an open-sourced Java class file shrinker, optimizer, obfuscator, and preverifier. As a result, ProGuard processed applications and libraries are smaller, faster, and somewhat hardened against reverse engineering.

• The shrinking step detects and removes unused classes, fields, methods, and attributes.
  • The optimizer step optimizes bytecode and removes unused instructions.
  • The obfuscation step renames the remaining classes, fields, and methods using short meaningless names.
  • The final preverification step adds preverification information to the classes, which is required for Java Micro Edition and for Java 6 and higher.

This means that, in your example, ProGuard will be able to rename the name of the string:
Before obfuscation the code will look like:
String string = “Hi”;
After obfuscation, the code will look similar to the following:
String aIjde283 = “Hi";
So instead of encrypting the value of this string, ProGuard is able to obfuscate the name of the string.

I hope this helps you to understand why JD-GUI was showing you something else then what you originally expected to see.

Kind regards,

Ewout

1 Like